

VETERANS TIME TRIALS ASSOCIATION (KENT GROUP)

10 Mile Time Trial RESULTS Course Q10/50

Ham Street - Brooklands - Cloverleaf - Brooklands - Ham Street

VTTA Kent Group Championships, BBAR & ECCA BAR Counting Event

Promoted for and on behalf of Cycling Time Trials under their Rules and Regulations

Sunday 23rd April 2023 07:00

Well done and thankyou to all the riders who turned up and completed our 10 mile event that was shortened from a 30 due to roadworks on A2070.

Our appreciation goes to Bob Giles and John Longbottom who sorted out this new course at very short notice ready for last weekend. We were able to take advantage this weekend and entrants were still able to get a ride.

Also a big thankyou also from me to my group of helpers, without you we would not be able to do events like this. Many riders also asked me to pass on their thanks to you.

Start time keeper Chris Burrows, start official Andy Burrows, pusher off 'me', Bob Burden and Alyson Nye on the left turn to A2070, Dick Claxton, Mark Amon and Colin Inett at Brenzett RAB, Stewart King at Brooklands RAB, finish timekeeper Dave Mastin and recorder Andy McCall, Bob Giles managing times and result sheet back at Hamstreet Pavillion.

It was a cool morning, with intermittent drizzle and rain on already wet roads. There was a keen WSW breeze hampering progress at various points on this very flat course with less than 17 metres of elevation. Many commented on the poor road surface at Brenzett RAB that is very badly rutted (north to south), thanks to the marshals for warning and guiding the riders.

Back at Hamstreet Pavilion we had DIY refreshments and a selection of homemade cakes that went down well with the riders and helpers.

Thanks to Tracy Henderson and 'me' for the cakes.

The awards were presented to the riders and expenses to the helpers, with some generous applause from those present (If you did not collect your award/expenses please contact me and I will transfer it to you).

Well done to Nick Wilson (Rye & District Wheelers CC) who was the fastest Veteran on Age Adjusted Time with a 21:03 (AAT)

No surprise that the fastest time today was set by Nic Fennell (Thanet RC) with a 20:58 well done Nic.

VTTA member Awards

Age Adjusted Awards – Veteran Riders

1st on Age Adjusted Time: Nick Wilson (Rye & District Wheelers CC) 21:03

2nd on Age Adjusted Time: Mark Hill (VeloRefined Rule 5) 21:22 3rd on Age Adjusted Time: Huseyin Vardal (Gemini BC) 21:34 4th on Age Adjusted Time: Mat Lister (Thanet RC) 22:44

5th on Age Adjusted Time: David Greenwood (Rye & District Wheelers CC) 22:51

Fastest female veteran on actual time

Rebecca Wilson (Rye & District Wheelers CC) 27:35

Fastest male veteran on actual time:

Chris Bax (Thanet RC) 27:43

1st Club team of two on Age Adjusted Time

Nick Wilson (Rye & District Wheelers CC) 21:03 David Greenwood (Rye & District Wheelers CC) 22:51

Non Veteran Awards

Fastest male rider - Nic Fennell (Thanet RC) 20:58. Fastest female rider - not awarded

(1 award per rider-except team awards)

VETERAN RESULTS

POS	First Name	Last Name	Club	Vet Mem	TIME	AAT
1	Nick	Wilson	Rye & District Wheelers CC Surrey/Sussex		00:22:41	00:21:03
2	Mark	Hill	VeloRefined Rule 5 Kent		00:22:34	00:21:22
3	David	Glossy	Elysium Kalas Race Team		00:22:19	00:21:34
4	Huseyin	Vardal	Gemini BC Kent		00:22:33	00:21:53
5	Matt	Clark	Ashford Whs		00:23:12	00:22:42
6	Mathew	Lister	Thanet RC Kent		00:22:52	00:22:44
7	David	Greenwood	Rye & District Wheelers CC	Kent	00:24:22	00:22:51
8	Rebecca	Wilson	Rye & District Wheelers CC	Surrey/Sussex	00:27:35	00:24:01
9	Jon	Hollidge	Ashford Whs		00:25:23	00:24:17
10	Allan	Thurston	GS Avanti		00:24:56	00:24:21
11	Christopher	Bax	Thanet RC	Kent	00:27:43	00:24:30
12	Vernon	Thomas	Greenwich Tritons Tri Club		00:33:07	00:28:08
13	lan	Stephens	Southborough & Dist. Whs		00:26:34	-
14	Ryan	Edwards	Ashford Whs		00:24:17	-
15	Steve	Gooch	Rye & District Wheelers CC	Kent	DNS-A	-
17	Paul	Smith	VeloRefined Rule 5	Kent	DNS-A	-
18	Andrew	Meilak	VeloRefined Rule 5 Kent		DNS-A	-
19	Nicholas	Fennell	Thanet RC		00:20:58	-
20	Pete	Elms	VC Deal	Kent	DNS-A	-
21	James	Harrison	Hythe Cycling Club		DNS	-

SCRATCH RESULT:

POS	First Name	Last Name	Club	TIME
1	Nicholas	Fennell	Thanet RC	00:20:58
2	David	Glossy	Elysium Kalas Race Team	00:22:19
3	Huseyin	Vardal	Gemini BC	00:22:33
4	Mark	Hill	VeloRefined Rule 5	00:22:34
5	Nick	Wilson	Rye & District Wheelers CC	00:22:41
6	Mathew	Lister	Thanet RC	00:22:52
7	Matt	Clark	Ashford Whs	00:23:12
8	Ryan	Edwards	Ashford Whs	00:24:17
9	David	Greenwood	Rye & District Wheelers CC	00:24:22
10	Allan	Thurston	GS Avanti	00:24:56
11	Jon	Hollidge	Ashford Whs	00:25:23
12	lan	Stephens	Southborough & Dist. Whs	00:26:34
13	Rebecca	Wilson	Rye & District Wheelers CC	00:27:35
14	Christopher	Bax	Thanet RC	00:27:43
15	Vernon	Thomas	Greenwich Tritons Tri Club	00:33:07
16	James	Harrison	Hythe Cycling Club	DNS
17	Steve	Gooch	Rye & District Wheelers CC	DNS-A
18	Paul	Smith	VeloRefined Rule 5	DNS-A
19	Andrew	Meilak	VeloRefined Rule 5	DNS-A
20	Pete	Elms	VC Deal	DNS-A

VTTA EVENT SECRETARY:

Simon Henderson, 9, Minster Road, RAMSGATE, Kent. CT11 0JL. Mobile 07813085640 Email – <u>Simon Henderson</u>